Before attending this lecture, I had been thinking about my creative web assignment. More specifically that it was one module; one module that counts for 20 credits just as this does. One module that expected me to create one website from scratch to potentially gain the full mark. This got me wondering why I had decided that it would be a good use of my time and resources to pump all of my effort into this one module by going overboard and creating 5 websites. At the end of the day, this project can’t be worth more than any other module, so therefore the workload should surely balance?

After explaining to Alan what my project was about, he immediately reassured me by telling me exactly what i’d been thinking. 5 websites for one module was too much work. The point was made that surely I can gain nothing more from making 5 than I could gain from making 2, as I still have the same amount of time to complete the assignment. I personally would rather make one really good website (or two) than make 5 shit websites that have been rushed, never really having enough time to work on them individually.

This means that I am going to have to rethink my strategy, and completely redo my project plan, as it caters for the construction of 5, and not the completion of 1-2.

This called for a reshuffle and a rethink of what my assignment aim was going to be. I still want to be able to do my portfolio, but my saving grace was that I had found a client. A client who I used to go to school with, and now attends Cambridge University. He (funnily enough) wanted me to create his website – a portfolio of his design work for him to pitch to his own potential clients. This provided me with a perfect chance to use this as my assignment brief. As a client, although he is a friend, I can absolutely guarantee that he would imitate a genuine client. After all, despite the fact he is a friend, he still is a genuine client! This will be the first time that I have had to deal with a client, and therefore this will be the focus of my project. Obviously my primary objective will be the fulfillment of the client’s requirements.

This is a screenshot of a design he sent me for the home page (below). There will be a central banner depicting the name of my client and the title of the website. The three images at the top are relevant to the three most important parts of the website. The five links below the banner link to less relevant but still important aspects of the website. There will also be a series of links below this for other random bits of jargon that will be specified and finalised later in the project.

CS design 1

Here is a screenshot (below) of the design page for a link. For example, any of the three large images on the image above, will follow on to the image below. This will be where the user chooses which of the projects from that particular skill set they want to see. The area on the left will have a jquery text slider,so that the standalone text will have its own scroller if needed. This area is reserved for concise information about the specific type of project that the page is about (ie. branding) and short bios of each individual project.

 

CS design 2

 

This screenshot (below) shows what will be seen by the user when they click on a project. The idea is to have up to 5 optional images for each project, showing one at a time and using some jquery to cycle through the pictures using a carousel or slider. I did some research into sliders in my creative web project so I know how to implement them into my designs, however none of the ones I have already researched will be suitable for this project as the client wants to achieve something different to what I had for my own work. The area on the left is much the same as on the page before it, although this will now have project specific information, and in much more detail.

CS design 3

As a designer himself, he has designed his own web page in the form of a psd file. As he lacks the skills to hand code a website, he wants me to turn his designs into reality by coding his website from scratch, bringing in my own unique styles where applicable. He’s given me some room to breathe though, for example he has left navigational designs up to me, and in reality the designs he has sent to me are just guidelines. They are well annotated so that if there is anything I need to know, it is there on the design for me to draw from.

Once I have worked out my project plan, I will upload a copy to this blog. I will need to consult with my client regarding specific dates and times where we will discuss and reflect on how the project is going, whether any changes will need to be made etc. I will try to keep contact during regular intervals of once-twice a week. I have already given him a link to the student server, where I will be hosting certain aspects of the website so that he can simply look online to see how his website is coming along!

Now that my project has been somewhat streamlined, I am much more focused and far less daunted at the prospect of completing this module. I am excited about this, particularly because on completion of this assignment, I will not only have (if all goes to plan and everything works) a visually stunning website under my belt, fully functional and operational online, but instead of monetary gain I will have my credentials recorded on this website as an affiliate of my client, with a link to my personal portfolio website (which will be much better than it is currently by the time this assignment is due to be handed in!). This will potentially provide me with contacts, and a springboard to meeting new clients and hopefully the unofficial beginning of my career!

