Once I had taken all of my shots, I needed to key out the green from them, so that I could add my own backgrounds. Unfortunately, the facility I used to shoot my film had no tracking points, which I guess in a way is a bonus because I won’t have to clone out any points which takes forever, but also means that I wasn’t able to film any moving shots as I would have nothing to track background positioning with.

To key out the green, I used the After Effects plugin: Keylight 1.2. Although there are many keying plugins for this program, this is the one we’ve used in class and is also the best from the choices by far.

Here is my original footage:

key1

 

As you can see, the backdrop is green. To eliminate this colour, I dragged keylight over the footage to activate the effect, then used the dropper to find the green I wanted to key out and hey presto, the green is gone! (below)

key2

Although the green is gone, I needed to refine the edges and make sure that there was no unkeyed green still lurking around partly visible, as it would be noticed. The best method I found for doing this quickly yet incredibly effectively was to first change the view from final result to screen matte, this left black and white only. The idea was to clip back the white and the black, until the black was the blackest without disintegrating the figure, and the white was the whitest without adding to the figure. Here was the outcome:

key3

Although you may not notice it, there are still slight white lines around parts of the figure in the shot, however, I shall be using an incredibly light background as my environment. To demonstrate how little you will notice the lines if at all, I have added a red solid as the background so that you can see how much it affects it.

key4

I repeated this task with every shot until all of them were as clean as I could make them.

 

