After playing about with a couple of ideas, and attending a lecture where we looked into current affairs for inspiration, I decided to look up the most popular news stories of the last century.

http://www.freedomforum.org/templates/document.asp?documentID=6327

This is the site I used to obtain this information. It lists the top 100 news stories of the 20th century, selected by journalists and scholars as chosen by The Newseum, Arlington, Virginia. I looked through the list, and chose a selection that most interested me, either because they were culturally relevant or because I had an interest/background knowledge on the subject. I was hoping to draw some inspiration from these by finding a story that interested me and that had a lot of information to look through to fully understand the subject and hopefully contextualise into a graphical piece.

1.United States drops atomic bombs on Hiroshima, Nagasaki: Japan surrenders to end World War II.1945

This was (according to the article) the biggest news story of the 20th century, which is understandable due to the devastation caused, the turn of the tide in terms of WW2 and the ongoing radiation in the two areas hit even now. However I don’t think I could create a mash-up using this without seeming like I was creating something even ever so slightly out of taste, which could be a problem with a few of the stories in the list.

2.American astronaut Neil Armstrong becomes the first human to walk on the moon.1969

“One small step for man, but one giant leap for mankind”. Pretty much everyone who could watched the Apollo 12 moon landing, and remembers the aforementioned line. I could use this story along with the conspiracy theories to create a mash up that supports the view of the theorists, using images from American news or NASA at the time of the event.

8.World War I begins in Europe.1914

‘The Great War’. By far one of the biggest events of the 20th Century. There is a lot of scope with this as well as World War Two, because of the propaganda and motivational posters around at the time to keep morale up/down. The classic ‘Your country needs you!’ springs to mind immediately

22.Adolf Hitler named Chancellor of Germany: Nazi Party begins to seize power.1933

This was pretty significant, and there are a lot of posters/pictures/propoganda etc. that I could use to do a mash up.

36.”Unsinkable” Titanic, largest man-made structure, sinks.1912

This is an obvious subject for a mash up, whether it be involving the film or just the news story. If I were to do this I would use the iconic standing on the rails scene, and perhaps mix it with an image of David Cameron and Nick Clegg to change the meaning of the original image.

32.World Wide Web revolutionizes the Internet.1989

This is a pretty good subject for me to do a mash up on, seeing as without the world wide web, i’d be doing a completely different course at university. Not sure how I would approach this though, as there is far too much scope to single out one idea for this, but I guess I could do something that insinuates that Tim Berners-Lee has ruined the world with the invention of WWW.

27.Berlin Wall falls as East Germany lifts travel restrictions.1989

This was a pretty big story, as it sort of signified the end of the Cold War and unified East and West Germany again. The only things I could think of for this were that I could do something that either showed the fall of the Berlin Wall allowing war to ensue, or people building it back up.

53.White House sex scandal leads to impeachment of President William Jefferson Clinton.1998

Not a particularly interesting story bearing in mind the amount of sex scandals that have since been uncovered day in, day out, but I could do something funny with this, perhaps using the film 40 days and 40 nights along with a picture of Bill Clinton replacing the main character.

89.Babe Ruth hits 60 home runs — a single-season record that would last for 34 years.1927

This was quite a significant point in the history of the NBA. If I were to use this story I would probably find a film that has a character running away from home and swap the character with Babe Ruth, changing the meaning from home runs to running from home.

100.The U.S. Surgeon General warns about smoking-related health hazards.1964

As a smoker, this story is something that I would rather wasn’t true, so if I were to use this I would take advantage of anti-smoking campaigns or use pictures of people smoking and change the meaning so that it portrays smoking as being a good idea and healthy for you , perhaps with a ‘5 a day’ poster.

