To begin my research, I had a look on Google images to find some examples of leaflet design.

This leaflet for the Tenby Arts Festival was the first I found. This leaflet has all of the expected pieces of information displayed on it. It has the name of the event, the dates, a central picture depicting the theme of the event, some contact information, and the logo of one of the companies sponsoring the event. Inside there was a timetable of events going on around the festival, providing the reader with a concise list of things to do and when to do them. I was a bit disappointed at the design of the programme, as I believe they use far too many colours that just don’t go well together just for the sake if it.

I then looked at this front cover for 2012 Townley Christmas. I liked this because I thought that they’d used imagery well to attract the audience rather than throw all of the main information onto the front of the programme. This wold encourage the reader to pick up the leaflet, and want to know what was inside it.

This was the first Dickensian style leaflet that I looked at. I wanted to aim my research towards this theme since it would prove incredibly helpful in tackling this brief. I liked the imagery around the title, and I think this a theme that we will bring into our initial designs. I also like the use of typography in the title, however I think that we could probably find a better, more appropriate font-type for our own designs. I also like the use of an image for the background instead of using a block colour.

I especially liked the calligraphy style title in this piece. Although this is just a poster, it encapsulates the Dickensian theme to a tee, without going over the top. It conveys the purpose of the event, the location and contact details for obtaining additional information. The writing paper style background is another feature of this poster that I find enjoyable, as it attempts to make the poster seem older than it is, setting it back to a time when Dickens was around.

This was my favourite leaflet out of all of the ones I found. It has everything that you could possibly need from a leaflet of this nature. My favourite part of this leaflet is the imagery on the front cover. When we discussed what sort of things we wanted to include in our leaflet before we had conducted any research or drawn any ideas out, one of the prominent ideas was to have a picture of Charles Dickens on the front. I also liked the type-face used in this leaflet, as it fits the Dickensian theme well and compliments the front cover design.

